Just another day in virtual Life

While I was pondering and thinking about what to write, I gazed upon my pictures – the ones on my Flickr-Account – and realised, I haven’t done many, while I “just” had my Linden Home. But now, at my new place, I am shooting things like crazy, and not in a weird way with a gun, but in a creative way, with my SL-camera. Well mainly I am shooting myself, still with a camera, and not a gun, I am TOTALLY against suicide, but that is another subject.

48564812536_f47288f7b1_o

Back to the topic, Linden Home against owning land or renting some. For me, I can’t really decide, because I loved my LH. It had two stories, a nice bathroom, everything that was needed. I would have loved a houseboat, but those were gone sooo fast, that it almost looked like a hoax, to everyone who didn’t get one. But there is still another option, premium users can explore. Owning land in Second Life. Uh, ah, many people will run away now, but it has it perks…

For once, you can design your place just as you want it to look like. You can live near the ocean side, on a road, or somewhere deep inland, owning a simple skybox. Everything is possible, and for every purse the right piece of land. Since I love sailing, and open waters, my match was a small lot, at Corsica, right on the ocean edge, with free traveling through the channel and connections of Nautilus right to Blake Sea and from there to Second Norway and Sailors Cove and so much more.

Since I haven’t gotten a LH-Houseboat, I got my own one, and live happily, at my peaceful place. That spot is close to my friends, and nice enough to have friends over for a party. I have my houseboat, my jetties and even a pool-deck, very sweet. Also enough room for a windsurfer and some snuggle-spots.

But enough about my place and how much I am loving it. Back to LH vs owning land. For me, there is probably nothing better as owning land in SL, but if you just want to have a sweet hide out, and no need for rezzing boats, or water close and a lot around you, a Linden Home is just perfect for you. My sister owns a Meadow Brooks Loft and is very happy – she also made it REALLY pretty!

48566785027_1972d2134f_o

While I am talking about owning land, I need to promote an initiative I really like. #Mainland matters! Since Mainland is the most important part of SL for exploring and actually doing things, we should never forget about it. Often mainland is a patchwork-rug made of ugly skyscrapers, horrible prim-blocks or yellow ban-lines. Those ban-lines are the worst for aviators, but overly aggressive orbs, can be a pain in the ass too, for aviators as well as sailors. #Mainland matters wants to show nice places one can explore, or visit, and also give people a sense of feeling, what they can do with their land, without annoying everyone else. And yes I know, it is yours, the rest should shut up. But Second Life, lives from the coming together, rather as from shitting into people’s faces – and yes I know, many people do that as well.

Linden Home versus owning land, my bottom line: If you want to make nice content – for others – and if you need a connection to other parts of the mainland because of your hobby, may it be sailing, flying or riding a bike, owning your land, is perfect for you. If you “just” need a place to stay, meet with friends or have someone over for the occasionally knock on the door, a LH, old or new, is perfect for you.

Leave a comment